land auctions

Tiff2Serious

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1629 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

I want to know with land auctions, if you win the auction would you need to pay weekly/monthly expenses to keep the land? if so how much? I'm rather new to all of this

I know you need to be a premium member to participate in the auction, and also do I need to buy prims for the land?

4 answers to this question

1 hour ago, Tiff2Serious said:

I want to know with land auctions, if you win the auction would you need to pay weekly/monthly expenses to keep the land? if so how much? I'm rather new to all of this

I know you need to be a premium member to participate in the auction, and also do I need to buy prims for the land?

Please read a lot more about how land works before bidding in an auction!  I don't mean to sound harsh, but your post shows you have some serious misconceptions about the whole land thing.

I teach a class about SL land on Saturdays, at Caledon Oxbridge University, at 12 noon SL time.  It's free to attend!

A few points:

• Yes, you need to be a Premium member to bid in an auction (or to own any Mainland).
  • As a Premium member, you may get a free Linden Home.  The older styles are on 512 sq m parcels and have a prim allowance of 175.  Newer styles are on 1,024 sq. m and have a prim allowance of 351.
  • As an alternative, you may buy a Mainland parcel, either through the auctions or by going to a parcel that is for sale and purchasing it from the current owner.
  • You do not pay any monthly land fees besides your Premium membership, as long as the total Mainland you own is 1,024 sq. m or less.
  • You may also rent land from another resident, either Mainland or land on a private estate.  You do not need to be a Premium member to get land in this way.