A simple random script with IF statement!

ZackCero

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2014 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I'm sorry to ask this but I'm not that good at these program languages.

This is what I have so far.

{

touch_start(integer total_number)
    {
        llPlaySound("UUID", 0.2);
    }
}

And it works right now for a single sound. When the object is clicked is plays one sound.

Can anyone help me turn this into a script that will run a random number. And play different sounds based on the number? I would like three sounds but I feel if I am given the code for three I will be able to make it more if needed anyhow.

So random number...

IF Statement to check random number

than play whatever sounds using llPlaySound("UUID", 0.2); etc...

Thanks.

Try this:

{
    {
        integer random = (integer) llFrand (3);
        if (random < 1) llPlaySound ("UUID_0", 0.2);
        else if (random < 2) llPlaySound ("UUID_1", 0.2);
        else llPlaySound ("UUID_2", 0.2);
    }
}
(*Other methods are also available.)
  • Like 1

Lots of alternatives, like ....

list lSounds = [ "UUID of sound #1 goes here", "UUID of sound #2 goes here", "UUID of sound #3 goes here"];  // and so forth ...

{
    touch_start( integer num )
    {
        integer iWhichOne = (integer) llFrand( llGetListLength( lSounds ) );
        llPlaySound( llList2String(lSounds, iWhichOne), 1.0);
    }
}

Edited by Rolig Loon

another way, which will not play the same sound twice in a row

list s = ["sound1", "sound2", "sound3"];

integer i;

{
   state entry
   {
      i = (integer)llFrand(3.0);
   }

touch_start(integer num)
   {
      i = (i + 1 + (integer)llFrand(2.0)) % 3;
      llPlaySound(llList2String(s, i);
   }
}

1 hour ago, ellestones said:

another way, which will not play the same sound twice in a row

code