Web Prim Potentialities

Macrocosm Draegonne

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2024 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Web on a prim is really cool, the localized data technique inspired me a lot, and especially after connecting jquery and other libraries externally, I am a web developer and dabble in a lot of code bases.

One idea about web-audio Ill share here with a few questions & thoughts if anyone wants to chime in....

Id love to build a sound track that is spatially experienced, depending on the area and context of the zone/activity, as well as micro-location within the zone, with differing and some crossover blending audio modulation and feedback.  This would be fairly minimal in most areas of course, using the howler.js cache plus procedurally generated sounds will mean very little to no bandwidth needed for most things.  Except delivering actual sound files (if used) of course, though... if you check out howler.js & other libraries you'll see a minimal set of sounds can be reused and tweaked in many ways, even synthesized in real time to produce any sound imaginable.

Can a webprims audio output be amplified and repeated/extended, spatially speaking?  Some things id want to triangulate an audio to amplify the sound in an area like a main track etc, not using prim copies as they could go off in timings.  Using a library like howler.js & others we can have excellent caching, looping, orchestrating, streaming, all manner of possibilities, all lightweight & fast webstandards based too.

Will making these web-audio web-prims hidden reduce viewer strain they may cause?  Along with hiding controls & interactivity, & setting to autoplay.   Web prims perform well on my system, but im not sure of others.  This use case really all I want is the audio, so that would be less strain potentially right?