Molotov like script.

EithanH

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2115 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello, I'm new at scripting and I don't understand it completely yet, but I'm trying to make a molotov like bomb, can someone teach me how to make it so as soon as the proyectile hits the floor it dissapears, a glass breaking sound plays and then generates some fire on the ground for a bunch of seconds?

Thanks you very much for the help!

Here are some things you should look into, for starters:

• Events
    • state_entry and attach
    • run_time_permissions
    • control
    • changed (CHANGED_OWNER and llResetScript)
    • collision_start
    • timer
  • Functions
    • llRequestPermissions
    • llTakeControls
    • llStartAnimation
    • llGetCameraRot
    • llRezObject
    • llPlaySound and llTriggerSound
    • llDie

You will need to script at least two separate objects, the one bottle you will be wearing in your hand, and the "projectile" that is actually thrown. I've bolded the ones you will need in the second object. You can just turn off the projectile's physics with llSetStatus and hide it with llSetColor before starting the fire particles with llParticleSystem. If you are using Firestorm, you can use the built-in particle creator from the Build > Object > Edit Particles menu instead of manually guessing the values for it.

All of that is quite simple, if you read the sections of the wiki that Fionalein pointed you toward.  The hardest part is designing an appropriate particle display.  You may want to visit the Particle Laboratory, in world, to play with their many tutorial tools and see what's available, premade, in their sandbox area.

Edited by Rolig Loon

Once you figured all of the rest out you might also want to upload or get a fire texture for a better looking and less spammy fire effect ;) Study particle fires by others a lot before implementing/improving the flames.