what im doing wrong with creating a mesh sphere?

Nicole Hansome

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2197 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

hi :)

im still a beginner in creating mesh so im concentrating on making simple things and objects..

i want to build my own sky sphere to surround my house in the sky..

my Problem is when i create the sphere in cinema 4D and Upload it to sl then i got an enormous LI (Primcount)..

when i make the sphere 50x50 i have 40 prims.. of course the bigger the more prims.. okay.. but 40??? 

is there something i do wrong during the upload maybe? or does anyone has some tips for me how or what to do to lower that primcount of a simple sphere?

thanks very much in advance ;)

35 minutes ago, angeoco said:

Could you not just make a prim sphere, which would have a LI of 1?

I do see one reason why not. If you are living inside the sphere, you will probably want to see a sky/stars texture on its inside surface, which as far as I know is not possible with a prim, which will always appear transparent from the inside.

Edited by angeoco

hello :)

Thanks for the answers so far. 

well, i already thought about it and tried it with usual sphere prim.. but..  what i forgot to say in my first Post, i have a few self made 360 degree panorama picrures which i want to apply to the sphere.. on a usual prim Not really possible ?

16 minutes ago, angeoco said:

I do see one reason why not. If you are living inside the sphere, you will probably want to see a sky/stars texture on its inside surface, which as far as I know is not possible with a prim, which will always appear transparent from the inside.