Streaming music

Sarah36 Islay

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2737 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

8 answers to this question

A fine from whom?  Certainly not Linden Lab.  A copyright holder can of course enforce the law and require you to pay royalties or force LL to take down the stream with a DCMA complaint, or whatever.  Lawyers can do almost anything, and defending against them can be expensive.  Not being a lawyer myself, I can only guess at such things.  As far as I am aware, however, there's no widespread campaign in SL to crack down on DJs.

• Like 3

the landlord is totally safe... but the one that broadcasts the stream CAN get fined for streaming illegal content by their national institute for copyrights, broadcast rights and music rights.

I say CAN, because this only is happening very rarely, but it's possible... and it are really serious amounts that can add up to hundreds of thousends.

Making your stream legal... and for sure when you have a growing fanbase, can be a very pricey thing.. i know here in the Netherlands, a radiostation, thats what you are when you stream, can cost up to nearly 1000 euro ( nearly the same value in dollars)

• Like 3

Short answer: NO

Slightly longer answer: Feel free to listen to any music source on your own parcel, You can even have friends over to have a listen as well while you all chat or even dance.

The Answer You don't want to wade through: [Just kidding I have posted this in detail in the Forums several times] Basically, the bottom line is that there are no music police looking to see where the music you stream on your own Parcels on the Grid is coming from or whether the songs are annotated correctly. BMI/ASCAP/SCSAC have never expended any manpower in SL to catch Music streaming activities because they do not have any basis or authority to police this in the SecondLife Product Offering.