Why does Linden Labs dont accept Debit Card payment when they have the option in Add Payment Method?

MadyHades

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2692 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

Hello !

I have been using Second life since a few months now , I love it but I have this one serious concern and complaint from Linden Labs, I wishh they resolve this soon, I dont have any Credit Cards, I only use Debit Cards and Skrill ,but neither of them work for me here.Whenevr I want to purchase Lindens I have to ask my Friend favor for it. Why does Linden Labs dont accept Debit Card payment when they have the option of it in Add Payment Method? http://prntscr.com/dmz3sy I have confirmed that my Bank service is not Blocking the card. and my cards are working everywhere but here. They even take money from my account but which are sent back after some days. I know this is all linden Labs issue and they have control over it. I always have to wait for my friend to be online and able to send me lindens . I wish they do something for it.

P.S I  love Seond Life. So take this question as a request rather than complaint. Debit Cards are accepted everywhere. and I just Found out that LL accepts Debit cards from only US Residents. 

9 answers to this question

It's complicated, and I'm not an accountant or financial person but I'll try! Obviously I'm not involved with LL in any way, this is just my opinion as someone who helps manage a payment provider as part of my day job.

Debit accounts have different legal requirements for processing and also need special procedures. Debit accounts are also charged different handling fees and are subject to VERY different fraud and security requirements (because almost anyone can get a debit account).

In short, when you're used to processing CREDIT, debit accounts are a lot of hassle.