Is there any way to acquire land, or a home, that doesn't require monthly payments?

VoluptuousVictoria

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3728 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello All,

I'm rather new to SL, so please go easy on me.  :)

My ultimate goal is get a house or home of some kind, but I don't way to have to pay montly fees.

1)  My first question is, is there a way to buy land, or acquire land, that doesn't require montly "tier" payments, or rent payments?   I don't mind spending a lot of cash up front if I could just "buy" something outright, but I just do not l ike the idea of having to continue to make monthly payments.

2)   If I cannot get land, is there any creative way to buy a home outright, where it doesn't require monthly payments?  For example, could I buy some type of large yacht, house-boat, RV, spaceship... etc.... where the vehicle contains a home inside?

Just like in real life, you have to pay monthly (or weekly) payments to someone. You can buy land through Linden Lab or a private seller, but you still have to pay monthly fees. There just isn't any way around it. No matter where the home is, it still takes up space on the Lnden Lab servers, and someone has to pay. You can pay them directly or you can pay someone else for the use of their home or land and THEY have to pay Linden lab the tier fees. The only way you will ever have a home in Second life is to pay for it and keep paying for it as long as you have the home/land. It is possible you could have a friend who may give you free rent or free space, but they have to pay for it themselves and would be a very good friend to you in deed!