What the new SL will be about

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3575 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Connor Nowles wrote:

Naehh i don't agree.. :-)

There is software that can detect the rythm "beat" of music.. Then some script of some sort makes the animation run in a certain speed to follow the music..

Or lets say dj's has the option to load a script that tells the beat of the music they play, and the different animations are then able to follow that beat..

Idk, just ideas.. I'm not a programmer.. :-)

I like the idea... the problem is that each user must download each animation before it plays.  This means that animations start at different times for different users.  Not only that, but the way one user hears a music stream may also be out of sync other users, as it must be sent through the net and there may be delays for users depending on where each user lives.

Like you, I'm not a programmer so I must concede that it could be possible, but I seriously doubt that making it happen would be worth the trouble of doing so... for LL anyway.  Perhaps a user with the technical ability to do so will think it's worth while and come up with a system for making it work.

If, in fact, the New World is as easy for which to develop experiences as Ebbe is making it out to be, it might not be as difficult as I think.  It's not easy to imagine what might be possible, when your only real point of reference is how things operate now.  Once the beta comes out, I'm sure we'll all be better able to grasp the possibilities.

...Dres

• Replies 58
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Coby Foden wrote:

Cathy Foil wrote:

Drake1 Nightfire wrote:

if you try to upload a file bigger than 2048x2048 it tells you the max size is 2048x2048... i have a 1024x1024 that i made for a mesh house i was going to make. it covers all sides and faces.. one single texture. How is that worse than 10 512x512s?