I am new to Second Life?

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4628 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Qwalyphi Korpov wrote:

In 2009 there was a change to stop the linden trees swaying in the breeze.  You can override that but it's the default.  That was supposed to improve performance.

Concurrency then dropped from 70k to about 50k.

This year swaying body parts were added.

Concurrency stayed around 50k.

There's some other stuff  but those are the highlights.

idk of an article - but some other ppls will add stuff.

(edited for spelling)

That just about sums it up:smileywink: I miss swaying trees and plants but ones you buy on the new SLM from creators have sway/flexi built in. Welcome back OP.

Since there were <20 regions? A whole lot. In no particular order:

Many thousands of private regions were created, and whole continents of LL regions.

Prim taxes were dropped.

Sculpted prims were introduced.

Windlight environmental effects introduced.

Concurrency passed 10K, then 20K, up as far as 70-80K. It's now back down somewhat.

A glitch briefly allowed the construction of new megaprims. Before it was patched, many thousands were created and released.

A huge furore about 'Adult content' lead to the creation of a new rating and land specifically set aside for Adult activities.

Land boomed in price to an average of over L$10/sqm, thensteadily dropped to around L$1/sqm.

Third party viewers became common. One in particular, Emerald, caused a lot of controvery and was withdrawn.

The teen grid was shut down, and older teens allowed limited access to the main grid.

Multiple clothing layers added, and multiple attachment points.

A new tattoo layer was added, over the skin layer and under clothing layers.

Various forms of 'avatar physics' have been introduced, for jiggling boobs, butts & bellies.

An Alpha layer was created, to reduce the need for invisiprims.