Will mobile SL client for iOS = eventual version for macOS that's optimized for Apple Silicon?

Snanny Smythe

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 157 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi. I saw in these forums and on YouTube that Linden Labs is working on a mobile client for SL that will work on iOS (and I'm guessing iPadOS too). I believe that macOS apps are pretty similar to iOS apps when it comes to the code base (though I'm not a programmer). So I'm just wondering: is there hope for an eventual SL client optimized for macOS? I bought a Mac computer with an M1 Max chipset and I still have keep my graphics settings in the middle (using Firestorm). I'd love to be able to set my graphics settings to high, which I think should be possible if a client were optimized for Apple Silicon. 

Am I just being naive in hoping for such a client?

• Haha 1

I think there could be a better desktop client for sure, once the desktop API moves from OpenGL to Vulkan. The M1 and M2 CPUs have MoltenVK, which is the MacOS layer for Vulkan. It all depends on how long LL takes to move everything to Vulkan, we'll see. That will affect all desktop platforms, not just Macs.

I suspect some of the work on the mobile client will dovetail into the ongoing work around updating the graphical back-end (currently OpenGL) used by Linden Lab and most third-party viewers. But at the moment, there's no timescale set in stone for any of this. So we will just have to wait and see.

(I'm currently using a 2017 iMac 27-inch system, which works great on Ultra graphics settings using the latest Firestorm Viewer, so it is more than a little disappointing to hear that an M1 Max machine can't handle that sort of load. Part of that, I think, is due to the way in which the unified memory is shared between the CPU and GPU parts of the chip, and Second Life perhaps being conservative in how much of that memory it uses?)

• Like 3