I'm an old resident, though now a 'newbie' - BENTO HELP

Meg Box

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1416 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I've been a resident in SL for many years; however, have recently returned to the world after about 5 years.  Soooo much has changed.  Ok, on to my most pressing questions (I have MANY!!)

I'm looking at Bento heads, mesh bodies, Omega appliers, shapes, skins..... oh my!  I'm off to watch a couple of Youtubes now, but I just want some clarification on this...

Q:  If I buy a bento head (looking at Catwa, LAQ)  and mesh bodies (Belleza, Maitreya, others) can I use old school skins?  Do I have to use a specific type of skin... Omega???  Also, where does BOM come into play.  I looked at a LAQ head that was BOM, difference?  If I get a Bento head, I heard I can change the shape....so if I use a body shape I like, does it affect the Bento head shape?

Ok...  opinions and help please!

~Meg

First of all, welcome back! You're joining a lot of people who are returning to SL after many years away and finding things have changed considerably when it comes to customising your avatar. I'll start by answering just your basic questions as succinctly and simply as possible, but if you need any further clarification or have any other questions, don't hesitate to ask :)

If I buy a bento head (looking at Catwa, LAQ)  and mesh bodies (Belleza, Maitreya, others) can I use old school skins?

• Yes you can use old school skins, although original skins (in other words, very old ones that were created for system avatars only) will need extra 'fixes' applied to them to make them look good, since the 'mapping' of their textures was designed for the original system avatar hands and feet. BoM (which stands for 'Bakes on Mesh') is the system that you would use to make these system skins show on purchased mesh heads and bodies.

Do I have to use a specific type of skin... Omega???