L to CAD and the legal responsablity

Sora Skyward

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1444 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

I am a resident of Canada. I want to take L earned from marketplace sails and take it out of Second life and into CAD, as a side income.

I'm confused on the legal side of things. in my mind its no different then say. selling a used bicycle on kijji or something like that. but correct me if im wrong. do i need to register my business with the Canadian government? or pay taxes? ect?

7 answers to this question

Any advice that you get here will be unofficial amateur advice, so don't accept it as "true" without verifying it through your own tax accountant and lawyer.  When you receive money in most parts of the world, local and federal government agencies usually want to know where you got it, and will have a cloud of rules about how much of it they expect to get from you.  The rules are so complex and so peculiar to each location that there's no way to be sure that the answers you get about one place will be relevant to your own home.

32 minutes ago, Sora Skyward said:

I am a resident of Canada. I want to take L earned from marketplace sails and take it out of Second life and into CAD, as a side income.

I'm confused on the legal side of things. in my mind its no different then say. selling a used bicycle on kijji or something like that. but correct me if im wrong. do i need to register my business with the Canadian government? or pay taxes? ect?

Just to get the money out of SL, you'll have to agree to the Tilia TOS and provide LL with some info to confirm your identity and address.  After you finally get the money, it is your responsibility to handle the governmental / taxation stuff based on your country's laws.  As far as I know, LL only sends financial information to the US IRS, but not to any other countries -- though I am not completely sure of that.