Big Project / Legal info?

Kori Amaterasu

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1496 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I need help from fellow merchants who had big projects and had to hire outside help. How did you guys do it from a legal standpoint? Did you have any documents exchanged/handled, how did payment proceed. I'm curious as to if there are documents available for these kind of contracts/arrangements and what my options are. I want to hire a scripter or two for a large project that would involve in-world scripting as well as some database/website work. Thanks for letting me know what your experiences were

My experience is with RL coding projects more than SL ones - although I have done custom scripts for folks in the past. Working on the basis of the legal requirements of the USA, where LL is based and under which they have to operate, the position is pretty clear. I'm not a lawyer and this is not legal advice, for the fine details you would have to consult an attorney and get an "official" opinion - I'm just a guy who has worked in situations governed by these laws in the past. There's two things to consider, mainly. IP rights and payment.

Where IP is concerned, if you pay me to write you a script to your specifications, in the absence of any other agreement between us the default position would be that the script is a "work for hire" - YOU would own it and the rights to it. As a scripter I would usually explicitly acknowledge that fact in communications between us before the project started even though saying nothing about the eventual disposition of rights would leave it as the default. If I were to retain any rights to it or yours were to be limited in any way this would have to be explicitly stated up front.