Will this work?

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1546 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I'm just gunna make this short and sweet. I haven't been on SL for years. I am not tech savvy whatsoever.  I know  everyone's gunna say "don't use a laptop" but I need one for school. So, just please tell me if and how SL will perform on this laptop. I know it's very low budget. Thanks in advance. 

https://www.bestbuy.com/site/dell-inspiron-15-6-touch-screen-laptop-intel-core-i3-8gb-memory-128gb-ssd-black/6387169.p?skuId=6387169

I've read the following:

Intel® UHD Graphics 620

On-processor graphics with shared video memory provide everyday image quality for Internet use, basic photo editing and casual gaming.

That tells me it's going to run like crap. No two ways about it. It has a Passmark score of only 1,077, which is really low to today's standards. Even my graphics card, a GeForce GTX 660 scores a mere 4,130 points, whereas a current card like a Geforce RTX 2060 scores 12,809 points. The more points, the better the graphics performance, and for SL goes that the better your graphics card, the better SL works. 
CPU and RAM and even hard drive still have some influence on how well SL works for you, but the biggest decider is the graphics.

Now, SL probably will still work on that laptop, but don't expect to be able to do much at all, like walk or build. But I'm sure you can chat, as long as the area is not too busy.

That's a text processor and the original $450 would have been a total rip-off.

The problem is: if those $350 are your hard limit, you won't find anything new worth spending your money. Check second-hand offers for something with a halfway modern CPU, preferably 8 GB RAM and dedicated graphics at best instead of low-end entry class iGPU.

This is the only offer I'd look at... but $500.

9 hours ago, Fritigern Gothly said: