I opened a folder & it deleted over 24k of new items!

Lisa Erin

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1636 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

First time poster, over 10 year resident on SL

HELP!!! I opened an old folder and BAM! The folder that it was in (over 24k of new Mesh) disappeared. I cleaned out my cache, deleted chat history then restarted the game. And I made sure it was not in the trash. STILL NOTHING  :(

Anyone ever heard of this? And is it possible to get back inventory that maybe a virus zapped when I added the file to my av?

HELP! :(:(:(

Lisa Erin on Second Life

Edited by Lisa Erin
Forgot to show I am not a newbie

5 answers to this question

8 hours ago, Lisa Erin said:

First time poster, over 10 year resident on SL

HELP!!! I opened an old folder and BAM! The folder that it was in (over 24k of new Mesh) disappeared. I cleaned out my cache, deleted chat history then restarted the game. And I made sure it was not in the trash. STILL NOTHING  :(

Anyone ever heard of this? And is it possible to get back inventory that maybe a virus zapped when I added the file to my av?

HELP! :(:(:(

Lisa Erin on Second Life

Huh... most in SL for more than three or four years rarely ever call it a "Game". But I digress. You do not specify which viewer you are using. Have you tried a different viewer such as Second Life Viewer (a.k.a. "Official" LL Viewer) - Catznip Viewer - Kokua viewer? (I don;t mention FS because it seems most presume that's what others use, right? If not then add that to the list).

As for clearing cache, did you clear the *inventory* cache?

If none of what I suggest helps, then your best bet is to put in a support ticket with Linden Lab. Be *patient* - it may take a while, but they *will* help you out. And remember, Holiday season is coming up do delays may be a little longer this time of year.