Fade prim to transparent for a few seconds

Elias Gearhead

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1695 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi,

I'm new to LSL though not coding.

I'm trying figure out how  to fade a prim for say 5 seconds, and then reappear for 0.5 seconds, and then loop.

I realise there a number of ways to do it:

a) Set the default state to be 100% transparency and then reduce transparency to 0% for 0.5 seconds, and set the whole thing on a 5 second loop.tex

b) Do the opposite, set default state to 0% transparency and then increase transparency to 100% for 5 seconds, on a 0.5 second loop.

c) Do something with textures; i.e. have two textures, one blank and one default texture, and do the whole 5 second, 0.5 second texture switch loop. Problem with this one is that unlike with transparency, alpha textures can sometimes leave that alpha 'halo' effect you can sometimes see in hair.

I tried to use a very basic llSetAlpha script generated online, but it doesn't work. I'd rather work with transparency instead if someone is willing to give me a hand.

Thank you!

There seems to be some kind of disconnect somewhere, "alpha" and "transparency" are the exact same thing regardless of context.

1. llSetAlpha changes the transparency of an object's face.
  2. Textures with an alpha channel can be partially transparent.
  3. Textures without an alpha channel (or alpha blending) can't be transparent.

You have the basic concept correct though. (Except you can't switch between two textures over a period of time, it has to happen instantly.) You need to start from one end and just use llSetAlpha to adjust the object in small increments. You can either do it in a single loop with llSleep to control how long the loop takes to complete, or you can use llSetTimerEvent so that the alpha change is done in a non-blocking way which allows your script to do other things in between the alpha changes.