FollyToBeWise

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1915 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I never know how to start these posts but maybe I should give you a little background - I am Rhae and this is my first year on Second Life. About three or four of the nine months I've been on SL, I've been away, but I've always been curious about building mesh. Granted, part of the reason I started wanting to do it was because I couldn't always find what I want, but I've finally decided to take the initiative and start by, well, getting Blender. 

I've looked up tutorials, scrolled through pages, but all of it is too advanced for someone who doesn't even know how to adjust the camera view yet. I've spent few minutes, learned few of the basics, and plan to keep at it until I am comfortable with the controls. But, as someone with anxiety, the fact that I don't even know what the next step is - is a little unsettling to me. 

If I asked you for a guide, for a 101, for a list of what you should get or what you should learn first - what would you include in it? I feel at loss, because my brain is shouting words I've read over and over again like 'rigging' and 'texturing' and 'baking' and 'developers kit' when I don't even know what I would need to start. I don't want to make clothes, for example, that are for standard sizes (alone). It feels a lot like attempting to learn a language without knowing the alphabets. And I don't know, I want a place to start. A list of essential programs and add-ons and items as well as a list of, well, what you should learn.

Obviously, once I cover the basic and learn to be comfortable with it, the rest would come from tutorials and blogs and forum posts but... I'd benefit from having a place to start and others might, too!

Thank you and I am sorry for rambling.

• Like 2

5 hours ago, FollyToBeWise said: