gestures

yunghunxue

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3050 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi I'm fairly new to SL and really enjoying the experience and have learned alot of things along the way  :matte-motes-bashful-cute-2:

however one thing I'm confused about are gestures and how to use them, :matte-motes-stress: I'd love to use them and I've downloaded some from the marketplace, a few are HUDS which my avatar is already wearing. What would I need to do to be able to use them ? I've also heard of chat-command and keywords which trigger a specific gesture, could anyone guide me through this please. Thanks ! :heart:

To use gestures you need to open the gesture and click activate at the bottom. Also at the top of the window it will tell you what to type in chat to trigger it.

As for the huds, those are not gestures, they are dancers. Gestures are only last a certain amount of time while dancers have an on/off function so you can play the dancer for however long you like. When you attach a dancer you will see the command for starting and stopping the dancer in chat.

Hope that helps.

keep also in mind a lot of those dances/gestures use sounds, or whole songs...streams

When a land owner picked his music carefully he won't like your noise a lot an most likely ban or at least block/derender you.

The same with lot of other people around, you will spamming their experience with annoying sounds and tunes, ene when a handfull supporters is around you others will be hating you for it.

Many will block and derender, or even report you for griefing.

The following video is rather dated, but explains the basics of gesture usage and creation very well:

The only difference consists of things having been moved around in the menu since this video was created.  But the rest hasn't changed since before I got here... and I've been here for a very, very long time.

...Dres