Blender 2.76 upload to SL Issue

Dyson Indigo

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3149 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello!

After much research and trial and error, I have learned how to use Blender 2.76 to create mesh objects. I am a Builder in SL, I specialize in creating houses and texturizing. I am also wanting to create furniture as well. It has always been my dream to create low prim builds and it seems to me that meshing is the way to do this.

I've recently tested my skills on a very simple pallet bed but when I looked to upload to SL, I seem to have done my exportation incorrectly. I have searched all over the internet on how to resolve this issue but all I am finding is information to old versions of blender and add-ons to them.

Does anyone know how to use Blender 2.76 for mesh building? Do I need to locate an add-on to help and what?

Thank you!

You don't need an add-on (thanks to Gaia). Here is the simplest process: Select only your object; File->Export->Collada; After selecting folder and typing filename, Click the "Operator Presets" button half way down on the left side and choose "Sl + OpenSim static" - these options will work foe most unrigged objects; Then click the "Export Collada" button at the top right.

If you have done all that and still have problems, then we probably need more information to identify the cause(s). At least we need to know exactly t what point your upload fails, what are the symptoms and any error messages? Do you have the same problem if you try to upload the default Blender cube?

It would be great to have some more details.

What went wrong?

Did you fail to upload your mesh to SL? Did you get any error messages? Was the prim count/land impact different from what you expected? What format did you use to upload to SL? Did you build/use LOD's? Stuff like that would be most helpful!