Do I need to have a mesh body?

LuEllen Weymann

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2883 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

I don't really get this whole mesh thing. Is mesh the same as slink? Do I need to have a mesh body before I can use mesh skin? And then do I need the body and skin before I can wear mesh (or slink) clothes? I'm not a designer, I'm just a customer who wants to buy stuff but it has not been explained very well to the user.

• Like 2

5 answers to this question

Here's the deal.

Mesh is an object...an attachment, just like hair or shoes.  A mesh body is an attachment that covers your entire body (except, in most cases, the head...and you can get mesh heads, too.)

In fact, you can get mesh attachments for your head, your hands, your feet, your breasts, and your bum.  You can "replace" your standard avatar body piecemeal with such add-ons, or you can go whole hog and get a mesh body.  In some cases, people do a little of both.  For example, I have mesh hands and feet from SLink, and a mesh body from Maitreya.  The mesh body comes with its own hands and feet, but allows you the option to use the SLink ones if you prefer.

Many creators offer mesh bodies and attachments.  Some popular ones are SLink, Maitreya, The Mesh Project, and Bellezza.