Blurry edges on lipstick (attempting to make it for makeup/tattoo layer)

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4235 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hiya,

So, I am a beginner at making, well, makeup pretty much.  I am attempting to make lipstick for the first time.  I usually go about making makeup and just saving it as a .png so I don't have to mess with the alpha layers and such in photoshop.

Well, it seems as if saving it as a .png is not the best choice.  I'm trying to get it so that the edges of the lipstick (around the mouth) are crisp looking.  Not so much blurred in.  Even if I can't seem to achieve that at the moment.  (ignore that line going down the middle of the mouth.  I was too lazy to fix that for that temp upload to take the picture to show you guys.

blacklipstickpixelatedsnip.PNG

I understand that I will probably have to save makeup pretty much as a targa file and work with the alpha channels.  But, I'm kinda perplexed how to go about that.  I have watched a couple of youtube video tutorials on working with the alpha channels to get the transparency in general, but there is an area on the upper curve of the lips where it is semi transparent along that edge.  

Do you guys go about painting onto the actual head second life texture map itself, or, do you prefer to work on a model within photoshop cs5 and such?  I have photoshop cs6 at this time.   I'm not sure how to go about this very easily.

Any links to other threads answering this questions, or helpful suggestions and advice would be appreciated.  Thank you! 

I don't know.

I know that other people here, do know.

I'm wondering if you're asking for Trade Secrets, and that's why they are being shy.

Another possibility is timing. Which day in the week it is, can effect potential replies.

I rarely run on ultra, It is unlikely that I would even notice such minor imperfections.