My First Mesh Project

Alexi Reggiane

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4345 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I've made some period furniture before using sculpts but I wanted to see what I could do with mesh. I am quite pleased with the way it turned out. Including the shadow prim it is only 4 LI, less then i could have done sculpts and i was able to get much more detail. I made it in Blender 2.61. Although I am a complete novice with 3D creation it was not that intimidating after having studied the many tutorials available on line.

I also have finished modeling a matching settee and just need to finish up a couple of textures for it. I also want to put some animations in them. I have put some static poses that I made in the chair but I think I would prefer something animated. I am not sure of my abilites with animations but I think it will be interesting to see what I can learn.

Louis XV Mesh Armchair_001.png

• Like 6

Thanks Valerie! Over the years I have dabbled in all kinds of creation in SL. It is one of the things I love about SL, creating or just getting to see the marvelous things others create. Most of the time it has just been a personal challenge to see if I could do it. I have never tried to sell anything in SL, although I have wondered if I could. I don't know how much of a market for Louis XV furniture there is in SL. If I am able to get some animations in them that work for the period, I might look into it.

Yes I have already thought of doing in other colors and patterns as well.

Alexi Reggiane wrote:

Is there a way I can download 2.63 and still keep 2.61? I tried downloading it but it replaced 2.61 and it didn't retain the plugins I had in 2.61. I was able to get 2.61 back with it's plugins by doing a system restore.

The way to keep many versions of Blender:

• Don't download the installer, instead download the Zip archive