Computer Resources and 3rd Party Viewers

Nitewater

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4493 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi,

I'm pretty new to SL. I am using Viewer 3 on a laptop with integrated graphics and a home DSL connection which is not amazing. The setup is usable. It takes a few moments for sims to to rez. Busy clubs with lots of avatars take the longest, and I can never really see the avatars in great detail.  I generally go to lectures and readings which are pretty static so rez time is not too bad.

Are any of the 3rd party viewers that I have heard mentioned better for lower end systems? Or are they all pretty much all the same?

(And by the way, if you could upgrade either your internet connection or your graphics card to have a better SL experience, which would it be?)

Thanks!

Older non-"mesh" supporting viewers tend to perform better on lower-end hardware, but as more "mesh" items are used there will be more and more things you wont' be able to see properly over time.

Upgrading your graphics system is FAR more important than your internet connection, especially if you already have DSL. Second Life doesnt' really need extreme internet connection SPEED, but it needs the highest possible RELIABILITY and CONSISTENCY. That's why it tends to work better on a wired connection than on wireless.

Simply put SL is GPU intensive, integrated graphics aren't really enough, though that depens on your hardware.  Some integrated solutions are probably better than my GT220.

For my sake, On Linux  most viewers seem about the same on my hardware.  LL's own viewers tend to look a touch nicer, and Firestorm has a slightly  higher frame rate but it's not a big difference:  I personally either recommend LL's own viewers (I use Snowstorm development releases myself) or Firestorm.

CPU: AMD Athlon II X2 240 Processor (2800 MHz)
Memory: 3011 MB