Mesh tips for Mac user needed

Jo Yardley

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4483 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Ok, I'm just about ready to start experimenting with Mesh.

Which mesh software should I get?

I tried Sketchup but for some reason it is not responding.

I did look at the page on wiki but there are a lot of possible programs I can use but it doesn't say if they are capable for Mac or not and I'd rather have advice from other users anyway.

Bit overwelmed with all the options.

Sorry for sounding like a complete noob... but when it comes to Mesh, I am one.

I want to learn how to create buildings with mesh, not clothes, if that makes a difference.

Get Blender, which is free from blender.org. There are plenty of tutorials for blender modeling both generally and specific to SL on Youtube. Blender 2.5 / 2.6 are much the same, and have a different and less forbidding user interface than 2.4. Scale and axes in Blender 2.5++ are the same as SL (1 meter = 1 meter, Z is up, axis colors are the same).

• Like 1

I am a Mac person.  I have been learning Blender, because I did not know of anything better, and it was free.

If I had to do it over, I would invest in learning Cinema 4 D.I have heard nothing but good things about it from Mac users, or anyone else. There are several in this forum who use it, sometimes along with Blender.

I don't know if it is me personally or my computer or Blender, but I have just had many many many problems and bugs and corrupted files. I would have been happy to pay well for something more reliable and less frustrating.  But as I say it could be me or my computer, or that all 3D programs are crap.

I too am a Mac and Blender user. It's a great combination which works very well in my experience. As others have mentioned, you can find a wealth of tutorials for Blender online. One of my goto places for tuts is http://www.blendercookie.com/.