How to Make the Object Modify but not it's texture ?

JoseNightHawk

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4479 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

I am new to making clothes and I have a sculpt outfit I want to make it so you can modify the outfit but you can not change its texture. How do I do this please. Like so they can't re colour it or anything.  I have seen objects you can modify the size but the texture box and colour box are locked.

Thanks

3 answers to this question

As far as I know (and I used to have a clothing store) there is no way to make the prim modify and keep people from tinting. The only thing that you could do in that regard would be to add a script to the prim that would let them resize the item in questions (let's call it a collar). You could then make the item no mod so that they would not be able to change texture or tint, but they would still be able to resize to some degree. I believe you have plenty of choices of those scripts on the Marketplace.

Edit: OK, you edited your post I see, so my original comment doesn't make as much sense. I have not seen what you mention, but trust that you have. Best perhaps to ask in the clothing creation forums. OR maybe someone here will know. I have blog fashion full time for four years so I am a bit puzzled. Will look forward to hearing the answer if there is one. 

If you buy a dress in RL, you can alter it and you can also dye it.  You can even cut it apart and make something else out of the fabric if you want to.  You have the RL equivalent of our mod perms.  The big difference in SL is that a designer can lock the mod perms and not let you change anything.  There's no halfway setting though .... change something.  It's all or nothing.