Coat - underclothes show through

newsue

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4515 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I'm quite new to SL but am playing about with outfits.

Wanting to be 'realistic'  :matte-motes-asleep-2:  I bought a coat for the cold weather.

My skirt underneath keeps showing through, is this a normal problem or do I need to do something.

Sue

Movement can make things show through. You might need to make the coat a bit larger so there is more space between it and the underlayers.  If you are new and do not have good editing skills, try taking the free building classes you can find in search/events/education.  Take any sort of classes as the skill sets are the same.  You move objects around and edit prims the same way if you are building a house, a magic wand or just adjusting your hair, clothes, eyelashes or jewelry.

Good building and editing skills will be of great value to you in SL for many things

It is a common problem because most coats has parts made of sculpted prims, and they can't be flexi and will not move with your avatar. I often find that wide coats helps for this problem. Many also wears a shape with smaller hips/butt under, so they will not show through so easy. If your shape is modifiable, you can take in those parts and save it as "coat shape" in the coat folder.

Sounds weird but I have done it often. I just need to have my ordinary shape in a well marked folder under body parts so I can put it back on.

Newer technology with mesh will give us coats that stretch when the avatar moves, but that is stil new and the majority of coats sold is with sculpted prims.

I'll try the shape alteration.

I have been a bit unadventurous with that up to now as somehow I ended up with an avatar I like, I think I got it with an outfit somehow but I like it anyway so I am reluctant to do too much until I know what I am doing.