I made a TV for YouTube and I'm trying to make the media shared

Dazzer01

I made a simple TV just for using YouTube and it all works great, but when someone else (or my alt in a second instance of Firestorm) watches the TV, they've just got independent access to the TV and therefore can't see or hear what I'm playing.

This has probably been asked many many times before but I wasn't sure exactly what to search for and I'm a complete scripting novice.

I found a shared media (kiosk mode) script on the marketplace and I've added it to the contents of my TV object. I've edited it accordingly and this is what I have now:

string URLlink = "https://www.youtube.com";

default{state_entry(){llSetPrimMediaParams(0,[PRIM_MEDIA_AUTO_PLAY,TRUE,PRIM_MEDIA_CURRENT_URL,URLlink,PRIM_MEDIA_HOME_URL,URLlink,PRIM_MEDIA_PERMS_INTERACT,PRIM_MEDIA_PERM_ANYONE,PRIM_MEDIA_PERMS_CONTROL,PRIM_MEDIA_PERM_ANYONE,PRIM_MEDIA_HEIGHT_PIXELS,1152,PRIM_MEDIA_WIDTH_PIXELS,2048,PRIM_MEDIA_CONTROLS,1]);}}

This script is running in my TV object but nothing different is happening to before. After editing the script it said it was successfully compiled when I saved it and the little box, top-right of the script window was green. Can someone please tell me what part of the script I need to change?

Thanks. :)

Darren

Edit: I've just changed the 0 in the script to a 1 after where it says llSetPrimMediaParams and that seems to have activated the script, because now the address bar has been removed like it's supposed to, just leaving the browser controls, but unfortunately apart from that it still isn't shared media.

Edited by Dazzer01
An update.

tl;dr is you can't synchronize viewing of a youtube video unless you either rip the video to a raw video file, or use one of several mildly expensive TVs in SL that already exist, and probably forward the video to an external server for you.

• Thanks 2

Posted (edited)

Thanks Tessa for the info. I'll look into it now. :)