Stylized mesh in Second Life?

Kelley Amiot

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 158 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I've been using Second Life for about 16 years now but I have rarely seen hand painted, stylized mesh in Second Life - let alone an entire sim in this style.

When I think of a stylized sim I think of games such as Dishonored.

Clearly it is possible because mesh is mesh and textures are textures.

One thing that comes to mind is the lighting in Second Life. When one is creating such things for a games engine then one can control the lighting and environment ambience to compliment the style. However in Second Life such things are so easily changed. One can literally change the environment lighting with a hotkey and make the entire thing look bland and flat.

Is such an endeavour pointless to embark upon?

I have a sim and, originally I was going for realism but I'm also an artist and I hand paint my own textures. I have since started to consider creating my sim in a stylized aesthetic but I'm not sure how well such an aesthetic would hold up on this engine.

What are your thoughts?

• Thanks 1

17 minutes ago, Kelley Amiot said:

I've been using Second Life for about 16 years now but I have rarely seen hand painted, stylized mesh in Second Life - let alone an entire sim in this style.

When I think of a stylized sim I think of games such as Dishonored.

Clearly it is possible because mesh is mesh and textures are textures.

One thing that comes to mind is the lighting in Second Life. When one is creating such things for a games engine then one can control the lighting and environment ambience to compliment the style. However in Second Life such things are so easily changed. One can literally change the environment lighting with a hotkey and make the entire thing look bland and flat.

Is such an endeavour pointless to embark upon?