New To Machinima. Tips and best practices?

Echelon Alcott

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 338 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I've primarily done SL photography, and recently decided to explore how to create videos in SL. I have no previous experience creating videos. I've been doing videos of parties and clubs I go to.

Any tips or best practices you can share?

Here is a video I created [link]. I tried to embed it in the post, but unfortunately it does not work. Sorry. I hope it does not violate any of the guidelines.

Edited by Echelon Alcott
Embedded video did not work
  • Like 1

thats a multi-part answer, you have recorder software, most i think use OBS) then record format, then encoder which will depend on your hardware, then a resolution size which again depends on your hardware, then decide on a video editor (which alot of good ones are free) then tons of practice (which is free of course) And get a youtube account, but now adays people also shoot for tiktok format

• Like 1

Thanks for your reply, Jackson! I'm using OBS as the recorder software indeed, and have been happy so far with Shotcut as my video editor. I've been hosting the videos I created so far on my own hosting service, including the video I shared in my original post above [link].

I read in a different thread your suggestion to increase Cam. Smoothing all the way up to slow down camera movement. Would you (or anyone else in the community) know how to slow down camera movement when using a 3D mouse? I tried changing the settings under Phototools > Cam > 3D Mouse but did not achieve the same result.

for the 3d mouse there are a couple different settings i use most often. The most common is 1 on the axis settings and feathering set at .05 or .005