Newbie in 2nd Life/Trying to make clothes

Fenrard

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1508 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi i am new to 2nd life

so i am 3d artist you can view my art here

https://www.artstation.com/roninfang

so just commissioned to make some custom clothing for 2nd life

problem is yeah i am new here so i have no idea how to upload stuff in game

so want to ask how to check if the clothing i made is the right size? cause when i try the upload model it does show up on the viewer

but yeah just noticed now i have to pay for every upload?

is there like another free software i can use to check if clothes i made are the right size?

is there a free 3d model somewhere i can download that is the same size as the default avatar male in 2nd life so i can check if the model i am making is the right size?

1 hour ago, Fenrard said:

so just commissioned to make some custom clothing for 2nd life

You shouldn't have taken the commission before you knew what you were getting into.

so want to ask how to check if the clothing i made is the right size? cause when i try the upload model it does show up on the viewer

Yup, everything you upload will be hosted permanently in the Linden Lab servers, so obviously there has to be some kind of throttle/fee.

is there like another free software i can use to check if clothes i made are the right size?

Pretty much everyone who uses Blender also uses Avastar which you can purchase here: https://avastar.machinimatrix.org/

• Like 1

On 3/6/2020 at 1:04 PM, Fenrard said:

problem is yeah i am new here so i have no idea how to upload stuff in game

I have a youtube video that shows how to upload in world. It uploads a mesh avatar, but uploading clothes would about the same process. 

If you login to the beta/preview grid, all uploads are free. Details here: http://wiki.secondlife.com/wiki/Preview_Grid