Changing materiels on a mesh face.

Frankie Rockett

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1810 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi

AS with everything else I know about LSL, I am self taught by looking at other's work and experimenting from there. In this way I've become 'average to good' with LSL, but every now and then I'm completely stuck, so I hope you guys and girls can help - even if I struggle to find the right way to describe the problem. Here goes.

I was examining a mesh animal which when it's script runs, appears to move it's legs through about 8 positions, in a cycle. I have seen it done in the past using multiple meshs, each in turn being switched to visibility on or off, to create the effect, and I understand exactly how to do that.

However, what new voodoo is this?! Now these mesh objects consict of only one mesh prim and worse, only 2 faces (0 and 1), and yet they have the shape and textures for 8 changes in leg position! So - how on earth would I address them to switch each on and off in turn, when the limit of apparent addressability is (assuming prim number / face number) is just 0,0 and 0,1? How do I switch any 7 of them off and one on, in turn, to create such animated illusions?

Thank you for your insights!

Frankie.

Edited by Frankie Rockett
Still learning how to spell, too.

Hi  Kardargo