Get username from an object's owner

Cielo Aulder

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2105 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello, i'm not very good at this, but i wanna get the username of the owner of an object, so i made this:

key Owner;

{

touch_start(integer total_number)
    {
              llSensor("", NULL_KEY,SCRIPTED , 3.0, PI);
    }

sensor( integer detected )
    {
        while(detected--)
        {
            Owner=llGetOwnerKey(llDetectedKey(detected));
            llSay(0, Owner);
            llInstantMessage(llGetOwner(), "The owner is: "+llGetDisplayName(CarOwner)+" ("+llGetUsername(CarOwner)+")");
            return;

}
    }
}

and what's killing me is that with some objects from certain owners it works just fine, and i get this:

[10:23] Object: 7d42438e-d9c3-4b12-a610-34dfa6f29448
[10:23] Object: The owner is:  Cielo Aulder (cielo.aulder)

but with others i get something like this:

[10:23] Object: 0c26902e-40c3-4fbe-98ef-3d9455292f10
[10:23] Object: The owner is:  ()

Somehow llGetDisplayName and llGetUsername is not working there... but the key on Owner is fine. And I don't understand why with certain people it works just fine..

I hope you can help me.

Thanks.

A couple of issues.....

llGetDisplayName, llGetUsername, llKey2Name, and most similar functions will only work if the person you are asking about is in the same region at the moment.  Otherwise, you get diddly.

Some objects are group owned, so you won't get anything at all when you ask for the owner's name.

You can use llGetObjectDetails(UUID_of_object,[OBJECT_OWNER]) and compare it with OBJECT_GROUP.  If the two are the same, you won't get a name, so stop trying.  Then, use llRequestDisplayName or llRequestUsername to provoke a response in a dataserver event if the owner is an avatar.

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1