Script for Glow in timer

Yasojith

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2375 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi, I'm a newbie for LSL. Trying to make a script that glow increase and decrease each faces of a prim based on timer.  (I was looking it in marketplace but couldn't such script). Here what I made so far by combining some free scripts. 

{   
 state_entry()   
  {           
   integer tFace = llSetTimerEvent(5.0);  
   }    

timer() 
    {                 
 float glowVal = llList2Float( llGetLinkPrimitiveParams(LINK_THIS, [PRIM_GLOW, tFace]), 0);                   
 if( glowVal > 0.0) 
 glowVal = 0.0;          
 else glowVal = 0.2;          
 llSetLinkPrimitiveParamsFast(LINK_THIS, [PRIM_GLOW, tFace, glowVal]); 
   }
      }

This gives an error. Can anyone could help to fix that please? Thank you very much for any help.

the fault is the 2 lines after else. you must put any more than a single command in braces  It is good practice to use braces anyway for clarity

if( glowVal > 0.0) 

{
 glowVal = 0.0;    

}     
 else

{

glowVal = 0.2;          
   }

• Thanks 1

Actually that part of the script is fine, if you put the llSetLinkPrimitiveParamsFast command inside the bracket then it will only ever execute when glowVal = 0.2 so the glow won't turn on and off.

The real problem is that llSetTimerEvent doesn't return a value so integer tFace = llSetTimerEvent(5.0); won't work.  tFace needs to be defined either as a global variable at the start of the script, i.e. before default, or as a local variable in the event or function in which it's to be used, in this case the timer event (you can specify a particular face number or use the constant ALL_SIDES to have it change all the faces at once).  The llSetTimerEvent command should be on a different line.

Also you could get rid of the llGetLinkPrimitiveParams command and simply use an integer with a boolean value as a flag instead.