alickclavell

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3413 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello all, 

I am new to SL. I don't know if this has bothered anyone else but I've noticed with almost every skin I try, it looks ENTIRELY different than the pictures the shops are showing advertising the skin, and not in a good way. The pictures look so beautiful and high quality, then I try out the skin and it looks nothing like it. Is this normal here? I feel like it's false advertisement of the product. The bodies I've found for male avatars usually look great—it's the faces that I think lack.

alickclavell wrote:

Hello all, 

I am new to SL. I don't know if this has bothered anyone else but I've noticed with almost every skin I try, it looks ENTIRELY different than the pictures the shops are showing advertising the skin, and not in a good way. The pictures look so beautiful and high quality, then I try out the skin and it looks nothing like it. Is this normal here? I feel like it's false advertisement of the product. The bodies I've found for male avatars usually look great—it's the faces that I think lack.

There are a number of reasons why you may see this.

And is also the reason you should always try demos first.

The pictures they do are under optimised lighting.

But everyones graphics vary.  And even the time of SL day can effect how a skin looks.

Also, the shape of your face/body can vary.  This can change the appearance of the skins also.

So it is not really false advertisement.  They are just putting their best foot forward.

So again, the best advise is to get a demo first.  I wouldn't buy a skin that I couldn't demo.

Screen Shot 2014-12-30 at 12.10.49 AM.png