Do you know if this mesh will be laggy?

Siksikas

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3651 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I'm opening a business soon that will involve many people being on my sim at a time (no its not a club.. lol)

and I was wondering if a mesh building would be very laggy with a lot of people in it?? I know that it depends on the quality of the mesh and how many polyagons (Apologies if I used the wrong term) that the builder used... but i was wondering if you could give me a ball park idea....

OR i was wondering if theres a way to tell how many polyagons they used just by seeing the building in world, therefore seeing how laggy it'll be?

If this is just all incorrect information then I'm very sorry... I'm not experienced with mesh, clearly. Lol.

The company that I'm buying the building from is MeshWorx.

Buildings are usually never the cause of lag. They lack a large polycount, therefore the download for that isn't very much. They don't need too many textures, so that usually isn't very high. Though I have seen a few buildings whereas the 1024s were spammed everywhere.. which can cause quite a bit of lag. You'll want to avoid any place that has a large number of different textures, albeit they're pretty, but if they spam 1024s and bottleneck everyones downloads before it even gets to downloading avatars (And don't get me started on avatars) then not only will their bandwidth bottleneck but typically their graphics cards draw calls with freak out and lag like crazy.

But anyhow, if you're worried about lag, be more worried about avatars...or coffee cups baked to a 1024 texture than large buildings :)

• Like 1

Vanessa Hallison wrote:

OR i was wondering if theres a way to tell how many polyagons they used just by seeing the building in world, therefore seeing how laggy it'll be?