House architecture problems!

Ayumi Dagostino

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3699 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi there,

I am extremely new to building in Second Life in general, nevermind mesh, so it's probably not too much of a surprise that I'm running into big issues with my current project. My partner and I have rented a small apartment in an RP sim. We're able to rez objects inside without issue but we can't edit the internal walls to suit our tastes or anything like that. So what I wanted to do essentially is to build my own wallpaper onto the existing walls. I've been able to do this fine using prims and it looks quite good in-game but the problem is that we have a limit on how many prims we can rez inside the apartment (75), so all of my little wallpaper prims amount to 19 prims in total, which is bad! My plan was then to convert the wallpaper prims into one big mesh by exporting the prims as collada and playing about with it in Blender a little bit.

I did that to the best of my (limited) ability, cleaning up the mesh a little bit and uploading it to SL, this cut the land impact down from 19 to 3, which was definitely good. But I have two issues. Firstly, I can't seem to get the physics working properly with the architecture, namely you cant get through either of the two doors or walk about inside. I've tried playing about with the physics sliders several times over on the test grid to try and get it working but at the moment the only thing that seems to work is making the object phantom. Which isn't ideal because then you can just walk through some of the additional walls that we added to the apartment!