Jumping when I alter land

Cully Andel

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4048 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

We just bought  some mainland. When I alter the land to make it level parts of it seem to be 'unstable' If you stand on it you jsut jump around all over the place. I've tried clicking the button that comes up at the bottom requesting region rebake, but it's still the same. Been tested on 2 diferent viewers so I know it's not that.

I will send a ticket but any thoughts on this? (Please note I'm not technically minded so has to be simple English)

Cully Andel wrote:

We just bought  some mainland. When I alter the land to make it level parts of it seem to be 'unstable' If you stand on it you jsut jump around all over the place. I've tried clicking the button that comes up at the bottom requesting region rebake, but it's still the same. Been tested on 2 diferent viewers so I know it's not that.

I will send a ticket but any thoughts on this? (Please note I'm not technically minded so has to be simple English)

My recollection on this is that after the next region restart things will settle down.   It's happened to me also with various viewers.

Ok, I'll just mention some unique properties of mainland sims. Mainland has limits on how far you can alter the height of the land. I think it is +/- 10 meters from their set default. This might have something to do with the jumping. Maybe you are near the limit.

Rebaking a sim, as far as I know, only rebakes the Navmesh of the sim. So, basically, if you move items or change the land height, you would rebake to have the Navmesh reflect the changes. Navmesh is the collision mesh for pathfinding objects.

UncommonTruth wrote:

I'm not exactly sure what you mean by jumping around... but did you smooth it after you raised/lowered?