help me make my basic mesh character become rigged and move pleeeaase!!!

Bongo Steampunk

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4572 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I can make a character, basically, even if its just a bunch of basic shapes in maya/zbrush and save it as OBJ.

I can go into blender [various versions] and bring in the standard avatar skeleton for SL

I can get to the point where i have both lined up and selected... [mesh avi and skeleton].... press ctrl+p and in version 2.59 i cannot see a way to get the thing to rig correctly... I am a noob i know.

I have been on for days just trying to get a basic character to dance on the beta grid.. it's driving me nuts.

I got the script for copy bone weights which recently cropped up for blender 2.59, installed the add on, checked it as operative and sure enough on my tool shelf i see the bone wieghts thing, until i delete the cube at startup, or open a file [like sl avatar.blend].. then it vanishes...

How can someone like me, who can make a character in mesh, make it dance!!!! please help!

I can't help you with any Blender-specific commands, since I'm not a Blender user.  Out of curiosity, I just wanted to ask why you're using so many different programs for this one task.  You mentioned you're creating your character models in Maya.  Why not then also rig it in Maya?

Use whatever you're most comfortable with, obviously.  I'm really just curious.  Care to elaborate? :)

well... maya, max, Zbrush or blender are all good for making meshes, but only blender or Zbrush export mesh in collada format... if maya did so [plugin i tried doesn't seem to help] i would use only it... i'm still not sure that even if i rigged my models in maya, that if i could export rigged mesh from maya, would it behave like the sl skeleton does, and work with inworld animation over rides etc.....