Unrigged mesh size limit at 0.1m just like prims?

Jade Nova

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3961 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

So I'm pretty new to mesh in SL but just created my first simple mesh item here. It's one of those septum piercings that look like a mustache. (I'm using maya 2013 for reference)

When I upload it, the proportions of it are way off because it won't let me scale any dimension of it to be less than 0.1m in size. 

This is what's happening. The left is the one that's at the right size (other than the Z depth) for the piercing. The one on the right behind it is at the proper proportions, but far too large for the face. 

Snapshot_001.png

Is there any way to bypass the 0.1 size limit for a mesh object? I know there are ways to make microprims but is there any such thing as micromesh? People make mesh piercings all the time, so I know it's possible for them to be tiny, but I'm not sure how. When I first upload it it's super tiny, but the depth is still too big and it has the proportions of a tape worm ;o 

I've tried adding a cube behind it and combining the mesh and exporting it that way but when I go to upload it to SL it says "Error: element is invalid." 

Is there any way to make mesh smaller than 0.1m in one dimension? Is it something I have to do in Maya, the upload settings, or in object settings or what? Or is there another setting I have to mess with in order to properly upload two objects as one (like with the cube behind it)? I'm really lost at how to get this to be the right size so any help would be greatly appreciated. 

Make owersized cube around your mesh (not to big,about 2 or 3 times bigger than your model),set it to new material and than delete all but 2 faces (sparing poligons) to get virtual bounding box,when imported in SL make that faces 100% transparent and you have nano mesh...

• Like 1