Why banned?

SouthernGothic

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4519 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I am a newbie who just had a frustrating and confusing experience. 

I just signed up and entered the London world to see what Second Life was all about and immediately someone placed themselves in front of me, demanded I change my tag and then banned me.

I didn't even have the chance to ask them what they were talking about.

What is a tag?  I haven't found a definite answer anywhere online yet.

Why did I get banned from London?

Hello,

a tag on Second Life usually means a text above your avatars name coming from a group you joined.

Some clubs do not want you wear another clubs tag or maybe an sexual or otherwise offensive ones.

If they didn´t give you the chance to ask or at least tried to help you, anyone can see your SL-age in your profile, then move to another place that is more newbie/user-friendly.

Monti

Look at your friends list, there is a tab called groups. You can see what group is "active", it might be something of an adult nature :smileywink: You can right click a different group, or choose none, and active it. Idk if you've been banned, or why, but that's the only thing I can think of, a risqué group tag.

Thanks for the heads up on a place to avoid... :)

Seriously banning someone for a tag over their head - ESPECIALLY a rez-day newbie, is just very bad form.

People need to first realize that newbies might have no idea what they're feaking out about, and second tone down what they freak out over. A tag is just a tag - they need to deal with it.

Turn off seeing tags if you don't like them that much...

Welcome to second life... lol

Every now and then a tiny person gets a little bit of authority and something like this happens.  Like others have said, it was a group tag from a recently joined group.