please help if you can!!

niddy Seerose

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4659 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

hi have been having problems with lag for some time and decided to follow the advice and go to the preferences page and i adjusted something and now it wont load at all , says i need to update my graphics driver, is there anyway of resetting the settings on the viewer from here as it wont load at all ,, i did try and uninstall then install it again but sadly it didn't work ,, any help or ideas would be gratefully appreciated ,, and keep it simple im not very technical xx

Welcome to Second Life Forums, niddy.

First of all, have you updated your graphics driver yet? 

You can change settings without actually logging into Second Life. Just bring up the log in screen, click on "edit" (or "me" if you use Viewer 2), and "preference".  You can change the "graphics" to "low".

I think though that if you post your computer's specifications here, you will get a ton of really good advice on how to get the best performance from your machine.

Click on the main button you use when you open new programs or close down your computer (the start button), and you should have a help/search box. Type in "device manager" and it will bring up a list of what components your computer is made up of. Look down the list for "display adaptors" or "display". Click on the icon next to this and it will tell you the type of graphics card you have installed in your machine.

Then visit the website for the manufacturer of the graphics card (for example I have nvidia installed in mine), and you will see an option to check if your graphics card is up to date and if not, it will offer you a free update.