Noob here -- Game is very laggy.

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4659 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I just downloaded this game and so far it's almost unplayable because of the amount of lag I am expericing. And what's with the bad graphics? I have a very good processor and graphics card and am able to run games like WoW smoothly, so what is the problem?

There's a mile long list of possibilities.

Some you can control and some you can't other than by leaving the area you might be in.

Here are some questions:

1. What kind of avatar do you have on? One of the basic free ones or did you invest in anything yet. The number one cause of lag in SL is caused by avatars that have badly made items. This is most common in shoes, jewelry, and hair - when these items have 'resizing' menus, they often use an old version of the resize 'scripts' that can cause amazing amounts of lag. Enough that a few people with them in the same area can crash the region's server... This means it could be you if you've started buying stuff and got one of the bad ones (and if new you don't really have the info yet to know how to tell - the "clue" is that a no-mod item has a higher chance of being such an item), BUT it could also be someone near you.

- New people often start in 'infohubs'. People that crash in SL also often go to infohubs. Common reason for crashing is having created too much lag for the system to handle... ergo: new people often get surrounded by these lag-monster avatars... In MANY infohubs scripts get disabled making these lag-monsters harmless, but not in all of them.

2. Some of the graphics settings can drive up lag even on a good machine.

- Keep your draw distance low. Raise it up only for photos. It works best at 96m for people on good graphics, less if you've got a slow machine.