Understanding Avatar basics

PhilippeAndre

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4668 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi everyone,

I'm new to SL and I'm wondering if there might be a breakdown/explanation of avatar basics somewhere online.  I don't mean a tutorial because those usually explain changing clothes, changing overall appearance (head, chin, ears, etc).  What I mean is has anyone seen a basic explanation of what an avatar consists of in its most basic state? I've looked around and haven't found anything.  When I mean basic state I mean detaching everything from the avatar, including skull, leaving you with a buck naked avatar with nothing attached...all ready to be worked on.

I think most of us who are struggling with adjusting the looks of our new avatar don't fully understand how skins, shapes, eyebrowshaper, hair, etc actually all work together.  Or maybe it's just me.

It'd be great to see an explanation along the lines that an avatar consists a shape to which you add a skin, to which you add ...etc etc. It'd be nice to see/read how each basic avatar component interacts with other components, and read about the common problems (and fixes) new SL people see when trying to put together a good look with a new avatar.

Just a good overview of the above information would give newcomers/noobs a better grasp of avatar appearance.

Any comments/input would be greatly appreciated.

• Like 1

Well if you remove it all, you just get a horridly deformed figure - assuming dials at 50, no AO, no texture to the skin, and so on.

Those tutorials all kind of exist for a reason - there's nothing really there beforehand.

You need to make some kind of shape for yourself or you're going to be pretty rough looking. The default setting of the base SL mesh is horridly distorted.

You'll need some kind of texture based skin because otherwise you're just a thing with an RGB color value.