Help with spheres.

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4700 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello. I am an amateur photographer in second life and I am having an issue with my spheres. I dont know if I am just now noticing this again or if something else is going on. By again I mean I had previously noticed this issue in my shoulders and had that resolved, but now I am noticing it everywhere.

In the photo I have included is a sphere. Notice it is not round but rather made up of many angles, polygonal I believe is the term. I understand about the mesh, insofar as when I view the world in mesh (ctrl alt t) that is exactly what that pseudosphere actually looks like.

What I would like to know is if there is a way to deceive myself into believing I am actually seeing a sphere, ie antialiasing type stuff that I am just barely understanding of.

If anyone could post examples of spheres that look like spheres that would really help out a lot. I am including my system info just so you know what kind of graphics processor I am working with. My graphics settings under preferences are Ultra. Hardware settings are Anisotropic Filtering enabled, Antialiasing 16x, VBO enabled.

Thank you for your time.

Sphere.jpg

jjccc Coronet wrote:

there is a way of getting smooth spheres in sl i think as a particle bubble ive seen them and they are smooth all the way round

All particles are flat as freckles, even bubbles:smileyvery-happy:

But the viewer always shows you the full picture no matter the viewpoint.

Just like floating/hovering text

When I zoom in it is round, when I zoom out it reduces quality. There is a way to stop it but idk. I do believe that all objects will retain their qualities which could cause some serious lag if too many objects are in view.