Getting started....

QuintessaLovelady

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1497 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

Hello I am new to SL less then a week and I have no idea where to start in the virtual world. Was told to start working on meshing myself up but there's a problem it's all so expensive. I don't know if this is the right area to ask this but i've looked in the inworld employment didn't see anything that I would qualify for nor do I think the "noob" look would really get me far. So my question is how to get lindens without using RL money? I just simply don't have enough to spare so looking for other ways. Any suggestions would be wonderful. Thank you.

4 answers to this question

Hi, Quintessa!

Welcome to Second Life.  It would be nice to have some money in your pocket, I agree, but it's not truly essential.  As a matter of fact, it makes a lot more sense to wait for while before you think about spending L$ on things in world, especially if you are on a tight budget.  The basic avatar that you get as you sign up and log in for the first time is fine.  You'll look like a newbie, but we were all there once.  When you do get some money in your pocket, you'll be able to fix that.  Until then, just explore, see what's out there, meet people cautiously, and get comfortable with how to move around.  Practice your basic skills.  Visit Caledon Oxbridge University (or any of the other top-notch tutorial areas) and get some specific knowledge about aspects of SL that seem most important to you right now.