Looking for tips/advice on making a mystery game

LuxuriousSin

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1863 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi! I'm working on a sim with some friends, and I wanted to make a mystery game, where users could grab a hud that tracks what clues they receive/possibly items, and can help them along with the story line. 

I've seen some really well executed examples of this in SL over the years, but I'm kind of stumped on where to start. I know how to make a hud, and I've got the graphics/story stuff end.

Has anyone had experience with making a sort of story game in SL? I don't have totally specific questions as I'm just kind of stumped on where to start. I'm not a scripter, and I have no (giggle) experience with experiences. But I imagine that's what I would be looking at? Any advice/pointers in the right direction would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

You mention that your concept is to have players collect clues and that these clues would then be used to activate story events. So at a basic level, you would want to structure your sim to be a series of choreographed scenes that can be activated by players when said players meet some arbitrary requirements.

As an example, a door will only unlock if the player finds a key hidden elsewhere. You could make it such that the key is a static prop in-world and when clicked upon, it signals the player's hud that they've "collected" it. In actuality, the player's HUD script could set a variable to signify this player has collected the key, rather than actually taking it into inventory. Then, when the player goes to that locked door, the hud would communicate to the door that this player has the necessary key and the door will then respond accordingly.