Is there a way to ignore a specific parameter?

Onamiko

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2185 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi, i am new to scripting, and wonder if there is a way to ignore a specific parameter, for example:

llSetPrimitiveParams([ PRIM_SPECULAR, ALL_SIDES, "e60ef3a0-06cb-71e6-7af7-a2b3cd6f710e", <1.0, 1.0, 0.0>, <0.0, 0.0, 0.0>, 0.0, <0, 0, 0> , 1, 50]);

The parameter colored in red is responsible for coloring, is there a way to ignore it so the script does not change the color?

Thanks!

15 minutes ago, Onamiko said:

The parameter colored in red is responsible for coloring, is there a way to ignore it so the script does not change the color?

No, it's not optional. All parameters must be there and are used. You need to obtain/store the specular environment colour and re-apply it.

• Like 1

You use black as color, which could be on purpose(?) - but else white <1.0, 1.0, 1.0> ensures the texture can been seen and does not effect coloring of the given texture. Creative use of colors though can enhance the shine effects.

• Like 1

2 hours ago, Onamiko said:

llSetPrimitiveParams([ PRIM_SPECULAR, ALL_SIDES, "e60ef3a0-06cb-71e6-7af7-a2b3cd6f710e", <1.0, 1.0, 0.0>, <0.0, 0.0, 0.0>, 0.0, <0, 0, 0> , 1, 50]);

You have set the specular colour to black in that statement, since the specular map is multiplied by the specular colour to determine the colour of the specular highlights, you have basically turned off the highlights while still using bandwidth and texture memory for the specular map loading.

Either grab the specular colour as Callum suggested, and store it in a variable, then reuse it, or set a specular colour, either white or some suitable "white with a hint of [whatever]" shade.

• Like 1

Thanks everyone for the reply. 

Alright, here is why i don't want it to change the color: