Exporting BVH from Motionbuilder

Daumus

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2158 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I'm trying to export mocap data from Motionbuilder as BVH, but every single time, no matter the size of the skeleton the animation gets completely screwed up. If the skeleton is tiny, animation looks like the character's limbs are imploding, and if i scale it to 100 the whole character looks like a spider.

Now, i've gotten to learn Blender in the past few days and tried retargetting data to Avastar and then exporting from there and it works, but it's not ideal as data isn't transfered correctly and my workflow is slow as i'm new to Blender.

I'm completely stressed out from this, does anyone know how to export data from Motionbuilder so that it works in Second Life? I'm 99% sure it's all about scale.

Data used was retargetted to female Bento rig for Second Life.

LargeScale.PNGSmallScale.PNG

Edited by Daumus

Are you sure, your mocap program translated the data correctly for the second life template mesh avatar?
Maybe you have too many limbs, or the hip is not the root, or whatever?

This template is made for poser, but as i found out, it also works very well using it with IPI Mocap Studio, for example.
http://static-secondlife-com.s3.amazonaws.com/downloads/avatar/avatar_mesh.zip

Importing the exported BVH file into Maya or Blender is fine, the animation is there. However now you got me thinking, i always thought that exporting BVH only exports the skeleton with animated and baked joint animation but when i try to load it up into Second Life i can see the Bento mesh in preview. How on earth does it load up that mesh when BVH should only save animation? You might be onto something here...

Just started with animations, so better dont expect too much. :)

First i exported the animation directly from ipi studio as BVH to blender. and it worked.