Desktop For SL

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2444 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I've been using my old laptop (very laggy for SL) and hubby's desktop for SL. His desktop has a great processor but the graphics card is not great. Therefore, I am looking to buy my own desktop. I found a couple that are within my budget and was wondering if those with the knowledge of graphics cards can give me their thoughts/feedback. Thanks so much in advance!

I also welcome other recommendations as well.

https://www.bestbuy.com/site/hp-omen-by-hp-desktop-intel-core-i5-8gb-memory-nvidia-geforce-gtx-1060-1tb-hard-drive-brushed-aluminum/5759916.p?skuId=5759916

https://www.bestbuy.com/site/cyberpowerpc-gamer-ultra-desktop-amd-fx-series-8gb-memory-amd-radeon-rx-460-1tb-hard-drive-black/5615009.p?skuId=5615009

ClariceRose, I'll be interested to read any responses you get.  I've been using a laptop for SL for 7 years now.  Lag, poor rezzing, and semi-visible avatars are too much to bear any longer!  I'm in the market for the best desktop, too.  Thanks for posting your question.

• Like 1

The HP Omen with the crippled GTX 1600 3 GB over the completely outdated and lame FX 4300 one ... but I don't really like either one.

It's hard to tell from those choices which your actual budget limit is. Below $600 or up to $700? Or more?
Do you need any additional parts, like a keyboard, mouse or a monitor?
Do you do any gaming, besides the needs of SL, or any other tasks worth mentioning?
Would it be an option to order single parts and have a custom setup built for you?

Those questions are directed at anyone seeking a setup.

EDIT: Well. After browsing BestBuy, Newegg, Amazon and the store stites of IBuyPower and some other, there are amazingly stunning 2 (!) other prebuilt systems which seem worth mentioning to me. Which doesn't mean that I'm completely happy with either one, though...